Nominate Your Sailing Heroine


The BoatUS/NWSA Award annually recognizes an individual with a record of achievement in inspiring, educating and enriching the lives of women through sailing. NWSA is now accepting nominations for the 2023 Leadership in Women’s Sailing Award, co-sponsored by BoatUS. Please, fill out the nomination form below.

Please, refer to the guidelines for submissions below the Form.


Guidelines for Nominations

Objective: To encourage and recognize individuals who have made a lasting contribution to the interest of women’s sailing.

Guidelines & Procedures: Contributions must have long-range, national impact and encompass numerous years of involvement.

  1. The recipient can be a man or a woman who has made a lasting impact on women in sailing.
  2. The recipient is a US citizen and has multiple accomplishments which include sailing endeavors over a period of years in the US.
  3. Her/his work can be local, regional or National but should have a significant impact beyond a local area.
  4. Her/his work should have advanced and/or expanded opportunities for women in the sport of sailing and/or helped educate women or otherwise enriched women’s lives through sailing in the USA.
  5. This award is to be considered a kind of “lifetime achievement award.” i.e. Her/his impact on supporting or educating women in the sport of sailing should be more than a personal accomplishment in competitive racing.

An NWSA member or organization’s contact representative in good standing may nominate an individual.

The nomination is to be approved by the NWSA Board of Directors.

A completed application form (click button below) must accompany the nomination. If you have any questions about the Leadership in Women’s Sailing Award, email [email protected].

The Leadership in Women’ s Sailing Award, co-sponsored by NWSA and BoatU.S.®, the nation’s largest organization of recreational boaters, began in 1990. The award is given annually to honor an individual who has a record of achievement in inspiring, educating and enriching the lives of women through sailing.


Award recipients

Please visit our recipients archive page HERE

1999   Bernadette Bernon 2011   Dawn Santamaria
2000   Betsy Alison 2012   Elaine Dickinson
2002   Gail Hine 2015   Sally Helme
2003   Dawn Riley 2016   Kathie Ohmer-Arnold
2004   Doris Colgate 2017   Linda Lindquist-Bishop
2005   Cory Sertl 2018   Sheila McCurdy
2006   Nancy Erley 2019   Pat Dieselman
2007   Janet Baxter 2020   Margaret Pommert

2008   Patricia Seidenspinner

2009   Maureen McKinnon-Tucker

2021  Marie Rogers

2022  Linda Newland